I Finished my Bag! And a pocket (sold) =)

After an amazingly painful day yesterday, I was back at my sewing machine today and ironing board like a champ!

Here’s what I finished up today.  And I absolutely am IN LOVE with my brand new, VERY OWN, punKyj messenger bag, that’s fits my laptop perfectly!  (Complete with my dad’s golf shirt that I apparently was not suppose to cut…whoops…)

I also finished a pocket from my BlackJack fabric, and linen tree lining.  I love how one inside pocket is at an angle because that’s how the shirt was shaped.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The bag is made from a shirt made by “Sanctify” which you see on the side panel.  And on the front flap is the scene of Jesus on the cross.  The back pocket on the back of the bag is from the back of the shirt and has the Bible verse Luke 23:32:  Father Forgive them for they know not what they do.  I got this shirt from my buddy Eric who never wore it because it was too small, and I knew I had to make it into a bag for myself immediately when I saw it.

The Lining is from my dad’s golf shirt as I mentioned before, but it didn’t provide enough fabric to line the whole bag and the extra I needed for the laptop divider, and the lining for the back pocket.  Luckily I found a green sheet in my house I was able to cut up.  I didn’t need very much of it but I’m glad I had it because it looks great with the yellow and maroon.

I doubled up the 1″ straps again, like I did on my “YellowJacket” Tote, because they don’t sell the gold strapping I wanted in 1 1/2″ or 2″ width, and I didn’t have it in me to do a web search for more webbing when I was only making it for myself.  And besides I really like how it looks doubled up, especially paired with the silver metal hardware.

I used the sleeves of the T-shirt for the two side panel pockets, a piece of Dad’s golf shirt for the inside pencil and phone pocket, and for the inside pocket on the laptop divider.

I did a lot of piecing together of fabric and clothes for this bag, which I have been doing a lot lately because people just don’t buy XXXL’s like they used too.  Too bad I didn’t start this business in the mid 90’s, I would’ve been overwhelmed with all the baggy clothes =)

*****Each product is handmade from second hand clothing and fabrics and is completely one of a kind, I couldn’t duplicate any of these bags even if I wanted too! It’s my way of going green and staying in style.

As always you can e-mail me at kimB@punKyj.com or leave a comment.

And if you’d like to view my complete collection become a fan of punKy*j on facebook. Or you can follow @pjpunky on twitter.

To purchase visit my etsy store.

Thank you for stopping by and please enjoy these designs by punKyj!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “I Finished my Bag! And a pocket (sold) =)

  1. Pingback: Where I’ve Been Hiding! « Punkyj's Blog

  2. Pingback: Lisa’s Free City Tote in progess! | By kimB

  3. Pingback: Lisa’s Live Nature Love Messenger *DONE* | By kimB

  4. Pingback: Arches Tote | By kimB

  5. Pingback: Lisa’s Messengers *DONE* | By kimB

Leave a Reply

