Leslie’s Honeymoon Tote!

I was so excited when I got the order for this tote.  Leslie’s daughter is getting married mid July and wanted to custom tote for her daughter to take on her honeymoon to hawaii, using her wedding colors, aqua and red.  After some e-mail communication to find out exactly what she wanted and sending me a wedding invitation so I could get an idea of the theme I got started.

She told me that she wanted it to look a bit bridal, but not to “blingy” as her daughter isn’t into over the top bling, and to include an inside zipper pocket for her keys and money.  She also wanted to use a mix of upcycled clothing and new fabric.

The outside of the bag  is made from a Men’s White Button up shirt.  I thought it would be appropriate to use white to go along with the wedding theme and to use a men’s shirt to represent the groom.

The aqua lining and pockets are from store bought fabric.  Since she wanted a mix of new and used fabric I decided to buy the aqua at the fabric store because that is a tough color to match and I wanted to make sure that I got it to match just right.

The silky red polka dot fabric is from the same pajama’s that I used on Imee’s custom tote.  They matched perfectly, the texture was just right for a bridal tote and I had just enough left over to use to accent this tote with.

For the embroidery on the front I chose to do a flower with the date in red and aqua.  I’d never used the embroidery feature on my machine before but luckily I got to do a practice round when Mama Jackie came over to help me.  After seeing the embroidery done during my practice round I decided to use 3 different color reds to add some depth to the flower, and the end result was stunning.

Overall this tote have me a lot of new challenges and gave me a great sense of pride when I finished and held the finished product =)

Leslie told me that her daughter loves the tote!  And thought it was cool how there were buttons down the side =)  Another happy customer!  YES!!  =)

*****Each product is handmade from second hand clothing and fabrics and is completely one of a kind, I couldn’t duplicate any of these bags even if I wanted too! It’s my way of going green and staying in style.

As always you can e-mail me at kimB@punKyj.com or leave a comment.

And if you’d like to view my complete collection become a fan of punKy*j on facebook. Or you can follow @pjpunky on twitter.

To purchase visit my (still under construction) website punKyj.com or etsy store.

Thank you for stopping by and please enjoy these designs by punKyj!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Leslie’s Honeymoon Tote!

Leave a Reply

