Kirk’s Custom Magic Messenger Bag DONE!

Where do I begin with this one?…

Back in September 10 months ago, practically day 1 of “punKyj,”  KP politely asked me to make him a *Gore-tex Messenger Bag that converted into a backpack.  And I politely told him I wasn’t a magician so he’d have to be more practical…

I put it off for as long as I could because for 1:  Gore-tex is not plentiful like cotton.  They don’t sell it at the local fabric store.  And I found it for sale on one website on the entire internet.  Seriously.  Gore-tex is something that North Face uses…not me.

2.  I didn’t know how the heck I could possibly make a messenger bag turn into a backpack and still be functional and not look TOTALLY weird!

3.  Well KP is very particular about his things and does not like to go outside looking like a fool.  So I knew if I messed it up he’d just be disappointed, not wear it, and I’d have lost a week/month of my life for no reason.

Eventually he got tired of my avoidance techniques and I had to get the ball rolling.

He had a good idea for what he wanted it to look like, with the backpack strap padding laying against the side panel of the bag so when they were not in use they would lay flush with the bag and go unnoticed for the most part.  And he also wanted a special place for the extra straps to go so that they weren’t just hanging around.

I drew up his idea and planned out all the pieces I’d need and got to work.

I ordered his Gore-tex fabric in mid-June and picked out 2 of his shirts to make the lining and laptop divider, and have taken my sweet time completing this project because making a mistake was not an option.

I’m so glad I took my time because this bag is beautiful now!

Complete with back pocket with a separate cell phone pocket, a pen and pencil pocket on the inside front face.  And a pocket on the inside lining as well as a padded and secured laptop divider.  There’s nothing more he could really need!  Unless of course he wants his initials embroidered on the flap…which isn’t a bad idea…

Anyway!  More than ever I want him to love this bag!  Half my heart is in there =)

I feel so accomplished.  I love getting new challenges and accomplishing them.  If you have any great idea’s throw them at me and see if you can stump me.  I dare you!

*****Each product is handmade from second hand clothing and fabrics and is completely one of a kind, I couldn’t duplicate any of these bags even if I wanted too! It’s my way of going green and staying in style.

As always you can e-mail me at kimB@punKyj.com or leave a comment.

And if you’d like to view my complete collection become a fan of punKy*j on facebook. Or you can follow @pjpunky on twitter.

To purchase visit my (still under construction) website punKyj.com or etsy store.

Thank you for stopping by and please enjoy these designs by punKyj!

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

More info on GORE-TEX

*The origin of waterproof and breathable GORE-TEX® outerwear, footwear, and gloves starts with five little letters: ePTFE. ePTFE, or expanded polytetrafluoroethylene, was created by Bob Gore in 1969 when he rapidly stretched PTFE under certain conditions. The result was an incredibly strong, microporous material with an amazing list of characteristics including low water adsorption and good weathering properties. By 1978, GORE-TEX® fabric was introduced and the world met the first truly waterproof, breathable outerwear. Thanks to our commitment to unending innovation and creativity, waterproof and breathable GORE-TEX® products have continued to improve and evolve to keep in step with the changing needs of our customers. The basic hallmarks that make our outerwear, footwear, and gloves the choice of serious professionals and casual outdoor enthusiasts alike remain, however:
The GORE-TEX® membrane: The secret of GORE-TEX® outerwear — which is both completely waterproof and completely breathable at the same time — lies within its revolutionary bi-component membrane. The membrane contains over 9 billion microscopic pores which are approximately 20,000 times smaller than a drop of water, but 700 times bigger than a molecule of moisture vapor. So while water in its liquid form cannot penetrate the GORE-TEX® membrane, as moisture vapor it can easily escape.
Waterproof, windproof and breathable: The patented GORE-TEX® membrane makes garments 100% waterproof, windproof and breathable so that you stay dry and comfortable under any conditions.
Durable: Waterproof and breathable GORE-TEX® outerwear is made of the very toughest fabrics and is thoroughly tested to guarantee performance even after serious wear and tear. Easy care: Just because it’s high tech doesn’t mean it has to be high maintenance. GORE-TEX® fabric is extremely easy to take care of and won’t lose its effectiveness even after repeated washing.
Guaranteed to Keep You Dry® Promise: Perhaps the most important aspect of breathable, waterproof GORE-TEX® outerwear. We firmly believe in our outerwear and back it up with a promise: No liquid from the outside will get to you on the inside. This includes moisture from the wet grass you’re kneeling in to the sudden squall you get caught in. We take this guarantee seriously. If you are not completely satisfied with the waterproofness, windproofness, or breathability of your GORE-TEX® product, then we will repair it, replace it, or refund your purchase price.
Born of innovation, creativity and a love of discovery, waterproof and breathable GORE-TEX® outerwear encourages you to get out there and get more out of the outdoors. And remember, if it doesn’t say “GORE-TEX®”, it’s not.

For more info aboout Gore-tex go here http://www.gore-tex.com/remote/Satellite/home

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Kirk’s Custom Magic Messenger Bag DONE!

  1. Pingback: The Night I became a Sewing Machine Surgeon | Punkyj's Blog

  2. Pingback: Kirk’s Magic Messenger Done…Again! Almost… | Punkyj's Blog

  3. Pingback: Where I’ve Been Hiding! | Punkyj's Blog

  4. http://mensengagementrings.ca

    Thanks for sharing superb informations. Your website is so cool. I’m impressed by the details that you’ve on this site. It reveals how nicely you perceive this subject. Bookmarked this website page, will come back for more articles. You, my pal, ROCK! I found just the information I already searched everywhere and just couldn’t come across. What a great website.

Leave a Reply

